in pursuit of jesus
a blog about student ministry, multimedia ministry, and leadership

What do you see?

If we’re not careful, we can get caught up in our own comfortable world – our job, our family, our church, etc. and totally miss the needs of the people that we come into contact with everyday.  I started reading Servolution by Dino Rizzo about a month ago.

Now, as I do my ordinary daily tasks I am so much more aware of the people around me.  Do you notice the person in front of you in the grocery store that comes up a few dollars short?  Do you ignore the homeless guy by the side of the road who needs a hand up?  Are you aware of the single mother who serves you in the restaurant?  Do you see the teenager who is getting picked on?

It’s been amazing how many times in the last few weeks that I have had the chance to meet a need, or encourage someone, or pray for someone.  The needs have been there the whole time, I just wasn’t paying attention.  Are you?  If not, ask God to show you the needs and to give you the courage to act.

3 Responses to “What do you see?”

  1. Bro, don’t sell yourself short! I have observed you doing those very things for nearly a decade. That’s a good book but you didn’t need to be taught those things. You have modeled them for years!

  2. Excellent post Bro. I agree with Mike. I have watched you meet needs of others for a decade.

    I wish more Christians would do that. Jesus calls us to serve one another. I always go back to Matthew 25:35-40. Jesus says it all there.

  3. Thanks Mike & Ken. Both of you helped me see how the church should meet the needs of the poor.


Leave a Reply

