in pursuit of jesus
a blog about student ministry, multimedia ministry, and leadership

What makes a ministry effective?

Over the last few weeks, I have lost my blogging rhythm.  For those of you who check my blog regularly, I’m sorry.  You can always follow me on twitter for random updates/ideas in 140 characters or less.  I finally have some thoughts that I will post over the next couple of weeks.  So here’s one:

What makes a ministry effective?

  • the # of attendees
  • the # of visitors
  • the # of people who accept Christ
  • the # of disciples
  • stories of life-change
  • the Word being taught (it won’t return void.)
  • fellowship/relationships
  • the gospel explained

Is it one or some of these?  Did I miss it all-together?  Do we have to define a “win” for each ministry?

I would love some feedback on this idea:  What makes a ministry effective?

2 Responses to “What makes a ministry effective?”

  1. I equate “effectiveness” with success. I define success as: knowing and doing the will of God. I believe effectiveness in ministry is directly linked to my obedience to do what God says, when He say, and how He says.

    I know that I will probably be branded by some as simplistic, but this will pass the acid test, or should I say the fire test (1 Corinthians 3:13).

    I love your blog…keep it up!

  2. At the Unleash conference, Perry Noble said that their method of ministry is to ask God what to do and then do it. Perry and the staff did elaborate on some specifics about what they do, but they always came back to that. I agree that doing what God says will produce effective ministry.

    I was struggling with the wording on this. Maybe, this is a better way of stating it: How do you measure whether a ministry is effective?

    What should you do when you ask God what to do, do it, but don’t see the fruit? Do we have to wait until “the Day,” as 1 Corinthians 3:13 puts it, before we will know if we were effective? Or is it as simple as going back to God and saying, “What should I do now?”


Leave a Reply

