in pursuit of jesus
a blog about student ministry, multimedia ministry, and leadership

Thoughts from Job

  • Job went through more trials and suffering than most of us can imagine.
  • For context in the book of Job, we have to keep in mind who is talking.  Job, his wife, his friends, and God all spoke.
  • Job shared his thoughts and feelings with God:  

 

  • Job 3:3  “Let the day of my birth be erased, and the night I was conceived.”  Job 13:23  “Tell me what I have done wrong?  Show me my rebellion and my sin.”  Job 23:2-3  “My complaint is still a bitter one… If I only knew where to find God, I would go to His court.”

 

  • It seems like it took forever for God to speak to Job.  Was He waiting for Job and his friends to shut up?
  • God never answers Job’s questions, but He does speak to Job.  Job responds by taking back his words and repenting.
  • God was angry with Job’s friends for speaking inaccurately on God’s behalf.  God had mercy on them because Job prayed for them.
  • God blessed Job in the second half of his life even more than in the beginning.
  • Job experienced the faithfulness and sovereignty of Almighty God.
2 Responses to “Thoughts from Job”

  1. Encourage & Enlightening

  2. Job is a great book to study. When I go through things, I often look at Job’s life and realize I really don’t have it too bad.
    Good post Bro.


Leave a Reply

