in pursuit of jesus
a blog about student ministry, multimedia ministry, and leadership

Rivalry

This weekend was rivalry week in college football.  Alabama vs Auburn, Oklahoma vs Oklahoma State, Clemson vs South Carolina, West Virginia vs Pittsburgh, etc.  Rivalries bring out the best and sometimes the worst of competition.  The teams and the fans show up with excitement ready for the game.  This single game can turn the season around in the eyes of their fans.

Rivalry can seep into the Church.  Churches in the same town may compete over the same people.  Or denominations may compare themselves to each other to see who can be the largest or most powerful.  However as Christians, we are all part of the same body.  How can we be compete against each other?  The Church’s only competition should be Satan.  We should be doing everything we can to reach the lost, including working with each other.  What would happen if the church became one as Jesus prayed in John 17:20-23:   

“My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one: I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.”  

How can like-minded churches work together?

One Response to “Rivalry”

  1. This is an excellent post and you are right on. Jesus said that the world would know that we follow Christ because of the love that we have for each other. I am so sick of pastors walking on each other in an attempt to gain more members , or worse yet out of jealousy of the other pastor. I have no idea how many churches knew what we at TPH were going through, but I know it was alot. In the midst of what we were going through with our property…I had a so-called friend who is a so-called pastor try to split the church. Of course, that has become his trademark in our area. Of all the pastors I know and of all the people that knew what was going on…only one church even offered to help (and I have never even met the pastor). The church closest to us only seemed to criticize and gossip. The only time they ever showed concern was when their pastor, who usually snubs me, wanted some good information to pass on. Now, to beat all it was a board of pastors that allowed Word of Life to strip us of our place of worship.
    Not putting all this out there to vent, but to verify that the competitive nature of churches is shameful on all of us. That a competitive spirit is nurtured by the leader. To bring about a change it must start in the pulpit.


Leave a Reply

