in pursuit of jesus
a blog about student ministry, multimedia ministry, and leadership

Potential in an Unexpected Place

Sunday after church, I decided to check on a family that hadn’t been to church in a while.  The children used to ride our van to church on a regular basis.  Anthony is about 9 years old and in the 4th grade.  I can remember when he struggled so much to read in children’s church.  He has improved his reading greatly.  He asked if I would buy a “Wildcat Card”, a discount card that he was selling to raise money for his school.  Anthony said that the student who sells the most would get $50.  I had no desire for the card, but I did want him to win.  I asked him if he thought that he would win.  Anthony said that he was leading the school with 47 sold in the last 3 weeks.  Knowing that his family was poor, I would have never expected him to be able to sell so much.  I asked him how he was able to sell so many.  He said that after school, he walks to businesses and asks them if they want one.  Since I thought that he had a chance that he would win, I bought a card from him.  Anthony may have a future in sales.

As leaders, we should remember that every person has potential.  Even the poor, the outcast, the homeless, the uneducated, everyone has potential.  Everyone influences someone.  We need to recognize potential and challenge them to use their influence for Jesus.

5 Responses to “Potential in an Unexpected Place”

  1. I remember Anthony. He was a very quiet little boy when I knew him. I hope he wins.
    You are right, everyone has potential. In the nearly eight years of ministering to the homeless throughout the nation, I have seen tremendous potential in the people who live on the streets. Many of them have tremendous talents that could be put to good use. We just have to work with them, love on them with the love of Jesus, and encourage them. I often think of Calvin, Annie and Joyce in Atlanta. They came off the streets and are living wonderful lives now. Jesus sees the potential in each of us. We need to look at everyone through the eyes of Jesus.

    – Ken

  2. Great post…you have made such a huge impact on underprivileged kids. I love how you see potential in people. I would also like to thank you for helping me fix this dumb thing…

  3. Ken & Pastor Mike, you both taught me so much about ministering to the poor. Thanks.

  4. […] This is a follow up to this post.  Anthony is a fourth grader, who comes from a poor family.  His school just finished a […]

  5. […] from selling the most Wildcat cards at the school fundraiser(click here for Anthony’s story part 1 and part 2).  He said that he spent it all on Christmas gifts for his family.  Anthony […]


Leave a Reply

