in pursuit of jesus
a blog about student ministry, multimedia ministry, and leadership

Middle of the Night Meetings

Do you ever wake up in the middle of the night and find yourself wide awake?  Every once in a while that happens to me.  It usually means that God has something to say to me and/or I have some creative ideas to flesh out.  Tonight is one of those nights.  I have big questions that I am trying to answer:  

How are you going to make the youth ministry more effective?  How can you connect better during your messages?  What can you do to make them stick?  How can you change it up so that it doesn’t get monotonous?  How can you create worship experiences(not just services)?  How can you evaluate whether the students are living it out?  Are you creating next steps that are obvious to students?  What topics do you need to cover over the next couple of months?  What can I give students to make it easier for them to invite their friends?  How can I get more adults to volunteer and really buy in to the vision?  How can I build student leaders?

2 Responses to “Middle of the Night Meetings”

  1. Hey Bro. Great blogs. I was hoping you would start one soon. You have a lot to share. You are an awesome leader and witness for Jesus. I have never met anyone who connects with children and teens like you do. We’ve been throughout the country together and within a matter of seconds kids are drawn to you.

    I know what you mean about suddenly being wide awake in the middle of the night. For me, that usually means it’s time to do some serious praying. I usually start out praying for family and friends. If I’m still wide awake, then I know God wants me to pray about something else. He always shows me. That last time it happened to me, it was to pray and cry out to God for the people of Haiti. I found out later that God had awaken a friend down in South Florida that same time, around the same time, for the same purpose.

    The amazing thing to me is even though you don’t get much sleep on those nights, you always wake up refreshed. That’s God strengthening us as we do His will.

    Love you Bro.

    Ken

  2. Dude,
    I am up right now having one of those 3:18 meetings with God. My goal was to get up at 5 am and take my brother fishing…now God has instructed me to go fishing for my brother…NOT JUST WITH!!! Please pray for me and Brad as I am going to share the gospel with him today.
    PMS


Leave a Reply

